Annnnnnnnd, we’re back!

WHAT a day!!!!! (I’m realizing that I probably have been starting all of my posts in a similar fashion, but I just can’t think of anything more fitting to say!!)

This was a day that my dreams sincerely came true. Up until this point, I had been so happy with the progress and the outcome, but things were taken to a whole new level today, and I was almost in tears over the whole thing. It dawned on me right before I walked into the studio to sing with Wes… I am SO undeserving of all of this. God has truly been showering blessings on me, and it’s clear that He has great plans for this project! I could not (and still can’t) believe that I am being trained and supported by such incredible talent. Gordon Mote, Wes Hampton, and Doug Anderson have been so encouraging during this visit… they sincerely believe in my writing and this project as a whole! I was overwhelmed with the work they put into it today, not to mention kindness shown and the true friendships that are being made.

So, here’s how the whole week has gone down so far. On Tuesday night, Gordon called me and said, “Is there any chance you could get here a little earlier on Wednesday? Doug will be in the studio on Wednesday afternoon and I’d LOVE for you to be there.” Sooo, knowing that we had a half day of school on Wednesday, AND that I was proctoring a test until only 9:30 and would be done after that, I looked into getting our plane tickets changed. Turns out that there was a 1:05 flight that afternoon with only THREE seats left, so I was able to snag 2 of those at the very last minute! Not only that, but we got placed in the “economy comfort” section.. whatever that means. SCORE! Haha :) Our flight was delayed until 2:00, so we arrived around 4:15ish, got our rental car, and hurried out to Brentwood. We didn’t even have time to stop at the hotel because Doug was scheduled to be in the studio around 5:00. As luck would have it, we got there around 5:30, and as we were pulling into the driveway, Doug was walking out to his car! He got there a little early and cranked out his vocal track before I even got a chance to step foot into the studio! Thankfully we were able to chat and hang out for a little bit. When I heard the work he did on this duet, I had tears in my eyes! For those of you who know me well, you know I’m NOT a crier. That was pretty crazy. This track is one of my favorites on the project. As I was writing this song, I had his voice in mind… it was SO cool to hear it finally recorded with HIM singing it! I am beyond thankful for his willingness to drive to Nashville for me :)YAYYYYY!

After that, we hung out with Gordon and Nathan in the studio for a bit, came up with a game plan for today, and then went to Chuey’s Mexican Restaurant. OH YUM. I had a food baby after that one… it might have even been twins. I ate the biggest burrito ever. Worth it.

This morning, we were scheduled to meet Wes at the studio at 10:30, so mom and I decided to grab a delicious breakfast first… this place just doesn’t get old. I don’t care who you are.

After that, we drove back to the studio. As we walked in, we heard Wes singing already… he was working on another project for Charlotte Richie, who was also with us this morning! I was pretty surprised to walk into the control room to see her sitting there. Quite the star-studded day! Wes’ tracking for her session took a little longer than expected because they ended up comping the whole thing in the studio. That was fine because we were able to hang out with Wes for quite a while and get to know him!  Such a solid and down to earth guy… it’s a privilege to have spent the day with him. After they were done comping, Wes started on my project. Let me just tell you right now, the last track of this record will blow your mind. In my opinion, Wes has the most delicious tenor voice of our time. HOLY. COW. He can do ANYTHING. He is what I like to call “a robot”. Yes. A robot. Also had tears during this session. Sheesh. I’m turning into a softy. Ohhhh Wes. Good times today. Can’t wait until June when I get to sing some dates with BOTH Doug and Wes!! Woo!

The rest of the afternoon was consumed with eating more Mexican food and singing lots! I was able to crank through all of my BGVs this afternoon in one session, so I shouldn’t have to do much tomorrow. The best part of the afternoon was the insane ideas that Gordon proposed for a few of my songs. I can’t really spill the details yet, but MAN. I don’t deserve the blessings that are pouring into my life! I was honestly speechless in the studio for a quite a while today (which is quite out-of-character for me…!) Can’t wait to start sharing some of this excitement with you all! What I can say is that the Lord is moving in my life and I couldn’t be more grateful and thankful that the talents and gifts He has given me are being used for His glory.  What a great feeling!

To celebrate all of this great news today, mom and I went to Outback Steakhouse for a yummy dinner :)

Tomorrow will be more work in the studio, but mostly a lot of listening and tweaking! It will be my last day in the studio on this project… definitely bittersweet. However, we’re talking about a 2nd record already :) Love you ALL, and thank you so much for your prayers. They are definitely felt and appreciated. Stay tuned tomorrow for more updates!

Aside

Leave a comment