And that’s a wrap!

Well my friends, today was the final day in the studio. It was incredibly emotional and bittersweet. Lots of tears shed, hugs given, and smiling faces all around. I have not laughed that much in a long time. It has been such a relaxed and pleasant atmosphere to work in… I’m really going to miss everything about it!

We started the day by waiting in line at the Pancake Pantry. It was on my “Nashville Bucket List”, so we crossed that off. There was a line wrapping around the building when we got there, so we ended up talking to the group of people in front of us, who ended up googling my name to find my blog… they were SO sweet to us!!  If you ladies are out there reading this, thank you so much for your encouragement! It made my day!! Mom and I got right in and ordered… and we were NOT disappointed. That was some of the best breakfast I’ve had in my 24 years of life. Woahhhh man. I’ll be back.

After that, we headed down to an awesome boutique called “Posh” (by recommendation of our dear friend Julie), and got some great stuff :) From there, we had to hit up the coffee shop right across the street, “Fido”, by recommendation of almost everyone I know in Nashville. It was great coffee and a cool hipster vibe!!

After our awesome girly morning, it was time to hit the studio. We met the boys at 11:00 today, so it was nice to get a free morning! When we got there, Gordon started doing some background vocals. It was really fun to see him in action… he has such an incredible voice, but won’t admit it! I’m so pleased that he’ll be on this album too; such a privilege to have these incredible people step up to help out!

We got some awesome Chinese food for lunch and brought it back to the studio to continue work. I didn’t have to sing at all today… I just watched and chimed in whenever I had some thoughts :) It was a pretty easy day for me! The rest of the afternoon was spent listening to rough mixes and talking about the future. There are some great things happening with a few of these songs already. Will you pray for these things on Monday? Monday will be a big day for one song in particular. I always appreciate everyone’s prayers and support… it means the world to me! I feel like a broken record saying this all the time, but I am truly grateful for the way God is molding this project into something that will glorify His name among many different genres and will reach many different types of people.

Here’s a little bit of the studio. I took a panoramic of the outside of the studio, but for some reason it won’t upload. Awesome. They also have a fully stocked mini bar and just TONS of food for the artists. Crazy studio. Not to mention a million stuffed deer in the garage. Cool.

 

 

After we left the studio, mom and I spent the drive back to our area of town listening to the rough mixes. As we pulled into the parking lot, I became SO overwhelmed that I just started crying. It has been a fantastic experience and I am beyond thankful. Sigh. I am still speechless about it all. I can’t believe it really happened… and is happening!! To celebrate this milestone, we had yet another steak dinner at “Stoney River Steakhouse”. I can confidently say that this was the BEST meal I have ever eaten. Quite literally. THE. BEST. I had a coffee cured filet, au gratin potatoes, and green beans. I don’t think I’ll eat anything ever again. We told our waiter how life-changing this meal was and why we were celebrating, so he brought us out a HUGE piece of chocolate cake! What a guy. And what a cake. Good gracious. I didn’t know it was legal to put fudge as the frosting on a cake. Our lives have been changed.

By the way, we stopped at LifeWay Books to get a few things, and I happened to look in the music section. Ohhh Gordon. you would have your own spot.

 

So, tomorrow we will have a DAY OF FUN in Nashville. No work, nowhere to be. Just plain fun. Then we return to Minneapolis bright and early Sunday morning! I love you ALLLLLL and I cannot WAIT to put this CD into your hands!!!

Aside

Leave a comment