Day Twooo!!!

Hey folks… day one in the studio is complete! Thank you for all of the texts, emails, messages, etc of encouragement and support that I got today. It was a LONG day, but soooo fun and worthwhile. I don’t even know where to begin!

We got to the studio at 9:45 this morning, and I was blown away by how beautiful it was! It’s in the basement of a mansion and was outfitted with top of the line equipment. The owners of the house and studio are the owners of Cedarmont Kids Music… which is 2nd only to Disney in sales of kids music… crazy!!! Needless to say, it was an outstanding studio. As I walked in, I was greeted by Larry Beaird (acoustic) and Steve Brewster (drums). Such a fun bunch of guys… they had me laughing right away! When we got inside, Gordon (producer and keys), Duncan Mullins (bass and he also wrote the charts… so he had spent some time with my music before today), Kelly Back (electric), and Nathan (engineer) were all setting up and greeted us warmly. As I was getting settled in, I overheard Larry say to Duncan, “is this the girl you were bragging about??” Duncan looked at me and said, “I was telling him about your songs were and how fun they were going to be to play…” !!!! Awesome….

As soon as we got settled in and did a little sound check, we got started. We had 9 songs to get through today in 3 sessions. Gordon was pretty nervous that we weren’t going to get through it all, but we made it just in time. I don’t really have words to tell you about the music experience itself. All I have to say is that you will be in for a treat… I almost wish we could just keep it at the instrumental tracks and not add my vocals… that’s how good this stuff is!!

I will start tracking the “real” vocals tomorrow. Today I just sang scratch vocals so the band knew where we were the whole time. I’m even more excited for tomorrow now that I know what to expect!!

Here are some pictures from the studio today:

Image

These guys sat by me all day πŸ™‚

Image

Larry Beaird doing his thing on acoustic!

Image

The mixing room… with Nathan, Duncan, and mom πŸ™‚

Image

Steve Brewster killing it on drums

Image

Gordon looks tired… but he’s just listening intently to the arrangement, trying to decide how to make it better

Image

My viewpoint for most of the day

Image

Gordon insisted that I try out the piano… it was pretty incredible! He also wanted me to play something for him. Talk about nerve-wracking!!

Image

Our entire crew for the day πŸ™‚

Image

Mom and I were pretty happy with the day πŸ™‚

Image

Our musical puppy friend, Bandit. He and his brother were with us in the studio this afternoon πŸ™‚

I’ll make sure to keep you all updated about how vocal tracking goes tomorrow. Please pray for endurance and vocal health for me tomorrow. I feel great right now, but the next few days are going to be long and hard on the precious vocal chords!! Love you all… can’t wait for you all to hear this!!!

God bless πŸ™‚

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bonnie walker
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 12:38:58

    Awesome to hear about your wonderful day. Praying for strength for today…

    Reply

  2. Deb
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 13:49:18

    Blessings Natalie! May God be with you – ALL DAY!! ALL WEEK!! giving you strength and health.

    Reply

  3. Nancy
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 17:21:26

    Nat…so cool to see and read your adventure. Will be praying for you and your beautiful vocal cords!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment